Click HereClick Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5203 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 52 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 Rob

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Rob:  2 mins ago
 Barret:  8 mins ago
 Bugala:  13 mins ago
 jprue:  22 mins ago
 freak:  43 mins ago
 thinkchip:  1 hr 2 mins ago
 olegil:  1 hr 3 mins ago
 ggw:  1 hr 6 mins ago
 Chain-Q:  2 hrs 20 mins ago
 tonyw:  2 hrs 29 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga Emulation
      /  Browser based Amiga Emulator
Register To Post

PosterThread
xe54 
Browser based Amiga Emulator
Posted on 31-Dec-2012 13:51:43
#1 ]
Member
Joined: 16-Feb-2005
Posts: 76
From: Unknown

An open-sourced web-based amiga emulation using nothing but javascript and web technologies for use on modern web browsers! (works best in Chrome)

http://scriptedamigaemulator.net/

Or read about it's development here :

http://creativejs.com/2012/12/html5-amiga-emulator/

Or help out with development via GIT

https://github.com/naTmeg/ScriptedAmigaEmulator

Includes demos and games including Another World and 9 Fingers!

Enjoy!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Everblue 
Re: Browser based Amiga Emulator
Posted on 31-Dec-2012 13:55:34
#2 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 24-Sep-2006
Posts: 402
From: Malta, EU

@xe54
So if I run this on an amiga i would be emulating an amiga in an amiga?

:D Amiga inception!

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Browser based Amiga Emulator
Posted on 31-Dec-2012 15:35:51
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 6364
From: Greensborough, Australia

@xe54

Interesting idea. But I would have thought it would be best to run it in java to make use of JIT multiplatform. I can't imagine running an Amiga emulator as a script compared to a virtual executable.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
xe54 
Re: Browser based Amiga Emulator
Posted on 31-Dec-2012 16:46:43
#4 ]
Member
Joined: 16-Feb-2005
Posts: 76
From: Unknown

@Hypex

There are already JAVA based amiga emulators!

This is for maximum compatibility for all future platforms!

And yes, surely one day this will work on Amiga too!
For now however, even the latest firefox builds struggle with this.

This is more an exercise in abstraction and to showcase the power of JS.

None of the routines are particularly optimised BTW so there is lots of room for improvements if people wish to get invloved :)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fransexy 
Re: Browser based Amiga Emulator
Posted on 31-Dec-2012 17:00:26
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Jun-2004
Posts: 2208
From: Elche (Alicante), spain

@Everblue

Quote:

Everblue wrote:
@xe54
So if I run this on an amiga i would be emulating an amiga in an amiga?

:D Amiga inception!


There is already an UAE port for 68k amigas that it even run on aga. Speed is another matter

_________________
No PowerPC, No Fun

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
resle 
Re: Browser based Amiga Emulator
Posted on 31-Dec-2012 17:55:01
#6 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 28-Nov-2005
Posts: 363
From: shanghai, london, moscow, jakarta, rome

This is an almost unbelievable technical accomplishment. I'm overwhelmed. And btw, speed is totally ok for me on a low end notebook. I can easily and smoothly play prince of persia.

Amazing.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
xe54 
Re: Browser based Amiga Emulator
Posted on 2-Jan-2013 14:20:07
#7 ]
Member
Joined: 16-Feb-2005
Posts: 76
From: Unknown

How this hasn't been promoted to front page news is beyond me!

For those of you who haven't checked out the source code...

It uses the AROS Rom as the basis for the emulation but can use the proprietary roms if available for better compatibility.

Almost all instruction sets have been emulated via software and all hardware is created modularly to allow for different amiga specs to be used, as well as the addition of new hardware as well as the removal of unneccessary hardware (for example a MOD player would not need the video ports).

I am guessing that everyone is waiting for somebody to port Workbench / Wanderer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2011 Amigaworld.net.

Page took 0.051586 seconds to load.